Skip Navigation Links > About Us

People Main

Dr. Kristi Reynolds and Dr. Jonathon Doris

About Us

Research Powers a Learning Organization

Research is an essential part of what it means to be a learning organization. At Kaiser Permanente, research helps us learn what we need to do to provide better care for our members and promote better health in the community.

Scientists, clinicians, and health care professionals work side-by-side to ask and answer questions that make a difference in health today. Is the shingles vaccine effective? Do antidepressants interfere with breast cancer treatment? How can we encourage people to pick up medication that protects heart health?

When we find answers, we translate them into practice. The impact of our work goes beyond conference presentations and scholarly publications. It changes clinical practice, transforms care delivery, and improves health.


Department Overview

More than 350 people work at the Pasadena, California-based Department of Research & Evaluation. The department is the primary hub of research for Kaiser Permanente Southern California, supporting research by full-time faculty members as well as medical center-based clinician researchers.

The research program emphasizes translational research studies that have the potential to improve clinical quality and health care affordability. Faculty members focus primarily on externally funded public domain research.

Open Button

Open Button

Open Button

Open Button





Leadership Team
 
Scientific Leadership Administrative Leadership
Leadership Individual Photo
Steven J. Jacobsen, MD, PhD
Senior Director of Research
Steven.J.Jacobsen@kp.org
626-564-3478
Leadership Individual Photo
Michael K. Gould, MD, MS
Director of Health Services Research & Implementation Science
Michael.K.Gould@kp.org
626-564-3926
Leadership Individual Photo
Kristi Reynolds, PhD, MPH
Associate Director of Epidemiologic Research
Kristi.Reynolds@kp.org
626-564-5103
Leadership Individual Photo
William J. Towner, MD, FACP, FIDSA
Regional Physician Director for Clinical Trials
William.J.Towner@kp.org
626-564-5667
Leadership Individual Photo
Anny Hui Xiang, PhD, MS
Director of Biostatistics Research
Anny.H.Xiang@kp.org
626-564-3966
Leadership Individual Photo
Deborah Rohm Young, PhD, MBA
Director of Behavioral Research
Deborah.R.Young@kp.org
626-564-3887
Leadership Individual Photo
Barbara J. Farrell, MBA
Division Research Administrator
Barbara.J.Farrell@kp.org
626-564-3060
Leadership Individual Photo
Hai Linh T. Kerrigan, PharmD
Division Research Administrator
Hai-Linh.T.Kerrigan@kp.org
626-564-3586
Leadership Individual Photo
Allan Slatkin, BS
Division Research Administrator
Allan.Slatkin@kp.org
626-564-3427
Leadership Individual Photo
Annie X. Chen, MBA
Director of Research Operations
Annie.X.Chen@kp.org
626-564-3504
Leadership Individual Photo
Wansu Chen, PhD
Director of Clinical Informatics & Research Database Services
Wansu.Chen@kp.org
626-564-3475
Leadership Individual Photo
Cristine E. Denver, MS
Director of Research Communications
Cristine.E.Denver@kp.org
626-564-3224
Leadership Individual Photo
Sharon M. Figgins, MBA
Research Finance Admr
Sharon.M.Figgins@kp.org
626-564-3135
Leadership Individual Photo
Kelvin L. Kelley, BS
Manager of Sponsored Programs Administration
Kelvin.L.Kelley@kp.org
626-564-3448
Leadership Individual Photo
Kirt Patel, BS
Director of Research Information Technology
Kirt.R.Patel@kp.org
626-564-3503