Kaiser Permanente - Deparment of Research and Evaluation

Research Leadership

Ten individuals on the department’s leadership team—which includes scientists, clinicians, and administrators—share responsibility for guiding the development of the research program at Kaiser Permanente Southern California. The team brings together diverse experience and expertise with the intent of fulfilling a shared vision: building a research program dedicated to transformative health research.

Senior Director of Research Steven Jacobsen, MD, PhD, heads the scientific team at the Department of Research & Evaluation and has overall responsibility for the direction of the research program at Kaiser Permanente Southern California. A chronic epidemiologist by training, Dr. Jacobsen’s primary research interests include men’s health and vaccine safety and effectiveness research. He has authored or co-authored more than 400 peer-reviewed manuscripts.

Senior Director of Research Administration Sac Carreathers leads the administrative team. He is responsible for the overall administrative management of the region’s research portfolio. As the Research Integrity Officer, he is also responsible for research compliance at Kaiser Permanente.


Leadership Team

  • Steven J. Jacobsen, MD, PhD
    Senior Director of Research
    626-564-3478
    Steven.J.Jacobsen@kp.org
  • Michael K. Gould, MD, MS
    Director of Health Services Research & Implementation Science
    626-564-3926
    Michael.K.Gould@kp.org
  • Kristi Reynolds, PhD, MPH
    Director of Epidemiologic Research
    626-564-5103
    Kristi.Reynolds@kp.org
  • William J. Towner, MD, FACP, FIDSA
    Regional Physician Director for Clinical Trials
    626-564-5667
    William.J.Towner@kp.org
  • Anny Hui Xiang, PhD, MS
    Director of Biostatistics Research
    626-564-3966
    Anny.H.Xiang@kp.org
  • Deborah Rohm Young, PhD, MBA
    Director of Behavioral Research
    626-564-3887
    Deborah.R.Young@kp.org
  • Barbara J. Farrell, MBA
    Division Research Administrator
    626-564-3060
    Barbara.J.Farrell@kp.org
  • Hai Linh T. Kerrigan, PharmD
    Division Research Administrator
    626-564-3586
    Hai-Linh.T.Kerrigan@kp.org
  • Allan Slatkin, BS
    Division Research Administrator
    626-564-3427
    Allan.Slatkin@kp.org
  • Annie X. Chen, MBA
    Director of Research Operations
    626-564-3504
    Annie.X.Chen@kp.org
  • Wansu Chen, PhD
    Director of Clinical Informatics & Research Database Services
    626-564-3475
    Wansu.Chen@kp.org
  • Cristine E. Denver, MS
    Director of Research Communications
    626-564-3224
    Cristine.E.Denver@kp.org
  • Sharon M. Figgins, MBA
    Research Finance Admr
    626-564-3135
    Sharon.M.Figgins@kp.org
  • Kelvin L. Kelley, BS
    Manager of Sponsored Programs Administration
    626-564-3448
    Kelvin.L.Kelley@kp.org
  • Kirt Patel, BS
    Director of Research Information Technology
    626-564-3503
    Kirt.R.Patel@kp.org

Leadership Services

Our team provides administrative, technical, and scientific leadership for the conduct of research throughout Kaiser Permanente Southern California (KPSC).

The Senior Director of Research provides overall leadership and vision for the R&E professional staff, a multidisciplinary group of epidemiologists, behavioral scientists, health services researchers, and programmers/analysts. The director also serves as a liaison with funders, university investigators, and government and public research policy groups.

The Director of Clinical Trials oversees all clinical trials that Kaiser Permanente conducts in Southern California.

The Senior Director of Research Administration oversees the department’s structures and processes, ensuring operational efficiency and integrity in our day-to-day work, and participates in long-term strategic planning.

Our leadership team supports R&E by providing the following services:
  • Overseeing compliance with legal and regulatory requirements, scientific standards, and the Kaiser Permanente Principles of Responsibility.
  • Providing fiscal oversight for the department.
  • Partnering with clinicians within and outside of Kaiser Permanente to develop mechanisms for translating research findings into practice.
  • Cultivating and managing relationships with academic institutions, scientific associations, government entities, and other health care organizations.
  • Strategizing recruitment of scientific and support staff.
  • Mentoring scientists and fostering staff development.
  • Promoting research in Kaiser Permanente Southern California.
  • Enhancing the brand image of the Department of Research & Evaluation.
  • Communicating internally and externally about our research findings and programs.
  • Ensuring information technology meets department needs.
  • Handling space management and procurement, and managing support services.
If you are interested in more information about our services, feel free to contact:
Leadership Administrator
(626) 564-3455
100 S. Los Robles Ave, Pasadena, 91101
Research-Leadership@kp.org